I’m sorry Bug

What I learned from stepping on a bug and breaking its leg

Richie Crowley
6 min readOct 2, 2022
Made by RICKiRICKi with Midjourney

I was walking along the river when I heard what sounded like an animal in distress. It was a high-pitched rhythmic noise. I couldn’t place where it was coming from. The water was flat, the sidewalk empty, and not even the wind was enough to shake the branches.

Then I heard it again.

This time, looking down, I saw it.

This is that story.

Bug: Ouch, fuck!

Me: Oh my god, I’m so sorry. I didn’t mean to step on you Bug. I didn’t even see you there.

Bug: You broke my leg.

Me: I’m sorry, I didn’t even see you there.

Bug: I can’t walk.

Me: What about flying? Can you still fly? Are your win-

Bug: Let me try.

(Bug tries flying)

Bug: Can’t fly.

Me: Want me to call an ambulance?

Bug: No. I don’t have health insurance. I’ll call Mark.

Me: Who is Mark?

Bug: Another bug.

Me: Ok, I’ll wait here with you.

(Bug calls Mark)

--

--

Richie Crowley

Slowly building an audience by publishing original thoughts and ideas only when I have something of quality to say.