The Truths Uncovered When Riding Your Bicycle Across America Alone

Richie Crowley
10 min readNov 20, 2019

This summer, I rode my bicycle across America, unsupported and alone.

Capitol Reef National Park, Utah

I left Boston on July 20th, and 65 days later arrived in Santa Monica. Coast to coast, from my childhood home to my current. I rode 3,904 miles, climbed 138,436 feet, and had 281 hours of riding time.

That’s 149 marathons, 4 ¾ Everests, and 35 8-hour workdays. In a row.

The ride also raised and distributed 2,436 meals.

I rode my bike across America because I wanted to. I have admired those who embark on personal pilgrimages: Noah Yuval Harari, sits in silent meditation for 60 days each year, over 20,000 have completed the Appalachian Trail, and hundreds walk the Camino de Santiago across Europe to Northwest Spain each year.

A pilgrimage is a journey, often into an unknown or foreign place, where a person goes in search of new or expanded meaning about the self, others, nature, or a higher good, through the experience.

My pilgrimage was to ride my bike across America.

I wanted to educate myself on the attitudes towards health and wellness across the country and discover the barriers that prevent many Americans from being in good health.

--

--

Richie Crowley

Slowly building an audience by publishing original thoughts and ideas only when I have something of quality to say.