Sober Entrepreneurship

33 things I know after 6 years of sobriety and entrepreneurship

Richie Crowley
4 min readJul 8, 2024
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

I’ve been sober for 6 years.

Each year, on my soberversary, I publish a reflection.

Here are the first 5:

  1. Last Year I Drank Tequila
  2. 794 Days of Water: A Sobriety Story
  3. Sobriety Is My Superpower
  4. After 4 Years of Sobriety, I Want A Damn Drink
  5. Stress Testing Sobriety

During my sixth year of sobriety, I built Celi and found myself relearning lessons in entrepreneurship that I had originally learned from sobriety.

This year’s soberversary piece, Sober Entrepreneurship, lists these lessons.

The format is borrowed from Sasha Chapin’s 50 things I know, which was itself inspired by Mari Andrew’s 100 things I know.

I hope you find something worth borrowing from this as well.

  1. I know loneliness. In early sobriety and entrepreneurship, isolation is your constant companion. But remember, you’re not actually alone — you’re just hanging out with your future self.
  2. I know clarity. Thoughts come into focus, crisp and coherent.
  3. I know our minds are master…

--

--

Richie Crowley

Slowly building an audience by publishing original thoughts and ideas only when I have something of quality to say.